Alerts, Notes, and Messages

There are several ways you can attach messages to a patron's account.

Alerts

Add or update an alert by editing the patron's account and typing your alert in the Alert Message screen. There may only be one Alert Message at any time and there is no saved history of prior alerts.

The Alert Message will appear when you first pull up the patron's account and you can view it again while in the patron's account by clicking Other > Display Alert and Messages.

 

Notes

To add a note in a patron's account, click Other > Notes > Add New Note. A pop-up window will open where you can choose to make the note visible to the patron (or not), and enter a title for the note and the note itself. It is good practice to enter your initials (the date and library will be stored automatically). Multiple notes may be stored at once. Notes cannot be edited, but they may be deleted if they are no longer relevant.

When a patron has notes on his or her account, the message "See Notes" will appear below the patron's name. Click Other > Notes to view them.

 

Messages

Messages may be used to add notes that can be edited, to apply penalties, and to block accounts.

Click the Messages button in the patron's account to view, add, and archive messages.

To add a new messages, click the "Apply Standing Penalty/Message" button. A pop-up window will open where you may choose to add a Note, an Alert, or a Block to an account. Type in a descriptive message and your initials, then click Apply.

  • A "Note" will add a message to this list, but it will not be visible unless you go to this screen.
  • An "Alert" will add a message to this list that will also display when you first open a patron's account or when you click Other > Display Alert and Messages.
  • A "Block" will add a message to this list that will also display when you first open a patron's account or when you click Other > Display Alert and Messages. It will also prevent the patron from checking out items, placing holds, or renewing items.

After an issue has been resolved and the message is no longer relevant, click the Messages button, select the relevant message line item, click "Actions for these Penalties/Messages" and then choose either "Remove Penalty/Message" (which will delete it) or "Archive Penalty/Message" (which will inactivate it and move it to the Archived list at the bottom of the screen).

 

Patron Message Center

If you wish to add notes that will appear to a patron when he or she logs in to 'My Account,' add the note by going to Other > Notes and make sure that the "Patron Visible?" box is checked. You can review notes that have been left for patrons in the past by going to Other > Message Center.